Barthelme Prize for Short Prose

Congratulations to the 2016 Barthelme Prize Winner and Honorable Mentions Chosen by Jim Shepard!


Andrew Mitchell, "Going North"

2015 Barthelme Prize WinnerAndrew Mitchell’s fiction has appeared or is forthcoming in Sycamore ReviewSouthern Indiana ReviewTin House, The Open Bar,The Saturday Evening Post, and elsewhere. He lives in Dover, New Hampshire, and serves as the Editor-in-Chief of Outlook Springs.

Honorable Mention

Molly Reid, "Fall From Grace"

Photo of Molly ReidMolly Reid’s stories have appeared or are forthcoming on NPR and in the journals TriQuarterly, Crazyhorse, The Pinch, and The Normal School, among others. She has received fellowship and residency support from the Breadloaf Writer’s Conference, the Millay Colony for the Arts, the Ucross Foundation, I-Park, and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. She is currently a PhD candidate at the University of Cincinnati, at work on a novel about taxidermy and ghosts.

Honorable Mention

Marya Hornbacher, "A Peck of Beets"

Photo of Marya HornbacherMarya Hornbacher is an award-winning essayist, journalist, and the New York Times bestselling author of five books. Hornbacher’s work has been published in eighteen languages, and her writing across genres appears regularly in literary and journalistic publications around the world, most recently in AGNI, Gulf Coast, Fourth Genre, DIAGRAM, The Bellingham Review, and Vestoj (Paris). Her sixth book, a work of long-form journalism, will be published in early 2018; her seventh, a collection of essays, will appear the following year. Hornbacher is an Assistant Professor at Rowan University, and was recently honored with the Annie Dillard Award in Creative Nonfiction.

Many thanks to all of our entrants! We look forward to reading more of your submissions. Got more work to send out? Our regular submission period is open until March 1st. GC Online Exclusives accepts submissions year-round. Click to learn more on our submit page.

The 2017 Barthelme Prize will open for submissions again this Spring. Please check back often for details on judges and guidelines.